Speaker's Office
Role of the Speaker
Press Release
Protem Speakers
Former Speaker
Write to Speaker
Related Links


New Delhi, 13 December 2018: Vice-President and Chairman, Rajya Sabha Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu; Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker, Smt. Sumitra Mahajan led the nation today in paying tributes to the Martyrs who laid down their lives while defending the Parliament from the terrorist attack on 13 December 2001. Union Minister for Home Affairs Shri Rajnath Singh; Union Minister for Finance and Corporate Affairs Shri Arun Jaitley; Union Minister for External Affairs, Smt. Sushma Swaraj; former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh; Leader of Opposition (Rajya Sabha) Shri Ghulam Nabi Azad; Deputy Chairman Rajya Sabha, Shri Harivansh; former Deputy Prime Minister and Chairperson, Ethics Committee (Lok Sabha) Shri L.K. Advani; President, Indian National Congress, Shri Rahul Gandhi; and Smt. Sonia Gandhi, Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) also paid floral tributes. Among others who paid tributes were several Union Ministers, Members of Parliament, former Members of Parliament and other dignitaries. The Secretaries-General of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Smt. Snehlata Shrivastava and Shri Desh Deepak Verma, respectively, also paid tributes. A blood donation camp was organized at Parliament House on the occasion by the Indian Red Cross Society. It may be recalled that it was on this day in the year 2001 that Shri Jagdish Prasad Yadav and Shri Matbar Singh Negi, both Security Assistants of Rajya Sabha Secretariat; Smt. Kamlesh Kumari, Constable, CRPF; Shri Nanak Chand and Shri Rampal, Assistant Sub-Inspectors, Delhi Police; Shri Om Prakash, Shri Bijender Singh and Shri Ghanshyam, Head Constables, Delhi Police; and Shri Deshraj, Gardener, CPWD, had sacrificed their lives while defending the Parliament against the terrorist attack. In recognition of their selfless sacrifices, Sarvashri Jagdish Prasad Yadav, Matbar Singh Negi and Smt. Kamlesh Kumari were posthumously awarded the Ashok Chakra. Sarvashri Nanak Chand, Rampal, Om Prakash, Bijender Singh and Ghanshyam were posthumously awarded the Kirti Chakra.



  Home | Speaker's Office| Role of Speaker | Speeches | Profile | Former Speaker | Events | Press Release | Contact | Related Links