Speaker's Office
Role of the Speaker
Press Release
Protem Speakers
Former Speaker
Write to Speaker
Related Links


New Delhi; 8 August, 2022: The Ninth Session of the Seventeenth Lok Sabha that commenced on 18 July, 2022 concluded today.

On this occasion, Lok Sabha Speaker, Shri Om Birla informed that during this Session, a total number of 16 sittings were held which lasted for about 44 hours 29 minutes.

The Speaker also informed that various important legislative businesses were transacted during the Session. 06 Government Bills were introduced and the following 07 Bills were passed:  The Indian Antarctic Bill, 2022, The Family Courts (Amendment) Bill, 2022, The National Anti-Doping Bill, 2021, The Wild Life Protection (Amendment) Bill, 2021, The Central Universities (Amendment) Bill, 2022, The Energy Conservation (Amendment) Bill, 2022 and The New Delhi International Arbitration Centre (Amendment) Bill, 2022. The Wild Life Protection (Amendment) Bill, 2021 was discussed for five hours and five minutes and 39 Members participated in the discussion.

Referring to the Question Hour, Shri Birla said that oral answers were given to 46 Starred Questions during the Session.

The Members raised 318 matters of public interest before the House under Rule 377. During the Zero Hour, Members raised 98 matters on various important issues.

Referring to the reports of Parliamentary Committees, Shri Birla said that a total of 41 reports were presented by various Parliamentary Standing Committees during the Session.

Members of both the Houses of Parliament extended farewell to the outgoing President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, in the Central Hall of Parliament House on 23 July, 2022.

President-elect Smt. Droupadi Murmu took Oath of Office in the Central Hall of Parliament House on 25 July, 2022.

On 27 July, 2022, parliamentary delegation from Mozambique led by Speaker of the Assembly of Republic of Mozambique witnessed Lok Sabha proceedings from the special box. 

Shri Birla thanked the Prime Minister, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, leaders and members of various parties for their contribution to the smooth functioning of the House.



  Home | Speaker's Office| Role of Speaker | Speeches | Profile | Former Speaker | Events | Press Release | Contact | Related Links