Speaker's Office
Role of the Speaker
Press Release
Protem Speakers
Former Speaker
Write to Speaker
Related Links


New Delhi, 4 February 2021: Lok Sabha Speaker Shri Om Birla; Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Coal and Mines, Shri Pralhad Joshi; Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Shri Ghulam Nabi Azad and Minister of State (Independent Charge) Culture and Tourism Shri Prahlad Singh Patel paid floral tributes to former Lok Sabha Speaker, Shri M. Ananthasayanam Ayyangar, in the Central Hall of Parliament House, on his birth anniversary today.

Among others who paid floral tributes were Members of Parliament, former Members of Parliament and other dignitaries. Secretary-General of Lok Sabha Shri Utpal Kumar Singh also paid tributes to Shri MA Ayyangar.

Shri M.A. Ayyangar was a veteran freedom fighter and eminent parliamentarian. He was a member of the Central Legislative Assembly, Constituent Assembly, and Provisional Parliament and First to Third Lok Sabha.  When the First Lok Sabha was constituted in 1952, Shri M.A. Ayyangar was the unanimous choice to be its Deputy Speaker, having earlier served as the Deputy Speaker of the Constituent Assembly (Legislative) and Deputy Speaker of the Provisional Parliament.   After the sudden demise of the then Speaker, Shri G.V. Mavalankar, he was unanimously elected to preside over the Lok Sabha on 8 March 1956.  Shri Ayyangar was, once again, unanimously elected the Speaker of the Second Lok Sabha in 1957. Though elected to the Third Lok Sabha, he resigned soon after to assume office as the Governor of Bihar.

Shri Ayyangar passed away on 19 March 1978.



  Home | Speaker's Office| Role of Speaker | Speeches | Profile | Former Speaker | Events | Press Release | Contact | Related Links