Speaker's Office
Role of the Speaker
Press Release
Protem Speakers
Former Speaker
Write to Speaker
Related Links


New Delhi, 4 February 2019: Lok Sabha Speaker Smt. Sumitra Mahajan; Union Minister for Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Mines and Parliamentary Affairs Shri Narendra Singh Tomar; Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker Dr. M. Thambi Durai; Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Shri Harivansh; Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Statistics & Programme Implementation Shri Vijay Goel; former Deputy Prime Minister and Chairperson, Ethics Committee (Lok Sabha), Shri L.K. Advani, Members of Parliament and former Members of Parliament paid floral tributes at the portrait of former Speaker of Lok Sabha, Shri M.A. Ayyangar, in the Central Hall of Parliament House, on his birth anniversary today. The Secretary-General of Lok Sabha Smt. Snehlata Shrivastava and other dignitaries also paid tributes to Shri Ayyangar. A booklet containing the profile of Shri Ayyangar, brought out in Hindi and English by the Lok Sabha Secretariat, was presented to the dignitaries. Shri M.A. Ayyangar was a veteran freedom fighter and eminent parliamentarian. He was a member of the Central Legislative Assembly, Constituent Assembly, Provisional Parliament and First to Third Lok Sabha. When First Lok Sabha was constituted in 1952, Shri M.A. Ayyangar was the unanimous choice to be its Deputy Speaker, having earlier served as the Deputy Speaker of the Constituent Assembly (Legislative) and Deputy Speaker of the Provisional Parliament. After the sudden demise of the then Speaker, Shri G.V. Mavalankar, he was unanimously elected to preside over the Lok Sabha on 8 March 1956. Shri Ayyangar was, once again, unanimously elected the Speaker of the Second Lok Sabha in 1957. Though elected to the Third Lok Sabha, he resigned soon after to assume office as the Governor of Bihar. Shri Ayyangar passed away on 19 March 1978.



  Home | Speaker's Office| Role of Speaker | Speeches | Profile | Former Speaker | Events | Press Release | Contact | Related Links