Speaker's Office
Role of the Speaker
Press Release
Protem Speakers
Former Speaker
Write to Speaker
Related Links


New Delhi, 13 December 2016: Vice-President and Chairman, Rajya Sabha, Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari; Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi; and Lok Sabha Speaker, Smt Sumitra Mahajan led the nation today in paying tributes to the Martyrs who laid down their lives while defending the Parliament from the terrorist attack on 13 December 2001. Union Minister for Home Affairs, Shri Rajnath Singh; Union Minister for Finance and Corporate Affairs, Shri Arun Jaitley; Union Minister of Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation and Information & Broadcasting, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu; former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh; Leader of Opposition (Rajya Sabha), Shri Ghulam Nabi Azad; Deputy Chairman Rajya Sabha, Prof. P.J. Kurien; former Deputy Prime Minister and Chairperson, Ethics Committee (Lok Sabha), Shri L.K. Advani; and Chairperson, Indian National Congress, Smt. Sonia Gandhi also paid floral tributes. Among others who paid tributes were several Union Ministers; Members and former Members of Parliament. The Secretaries-General of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Shri Anoop Mishra and Shri Shumsher K. Sheriff, respectively, also paid tributes. A blood donation camp was organized at Parliament House on the occasion by the Indian Red Cross Society, in which Members and a large number of officers and staff of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha Secretariats and allied agencies, donated blood. It may be recalled that it was on this day in the year 2001, that Shri Jagdish Prasad Yadav and Shri Matbar Singh Negi, both Security Assistants of Rajya Sabha Secretariat; Smt. Kamlesh Kumari, Constable, CRPF; Shri Nanak Chand and Shri Rampal, Assistant Sub-Inspectors, Delhi Police; Shri Om Prakash, Shri Bijender Singh and Shri Ghanshyam, Head Constables, Delhi Police; and Shri Deshraj, Gardener, CPWD, had sacrificed their lives while defending the Parliament against the terrorist attack. In recognition of their selfless sacrifices, Sarvashri Jagdish Prasad Yadav, Matbar Singh Negi and Smt. Kamlesh Kumari were posthumously awarded the Ashok Chakra. Sarvashri Nanak Chand, Rampal, Om Prakash, Bijender Singh and Ghanshyam were posthumously awarded the Kirti Chakra.



  Home | Speaker's Office| Role of Speaker | Speeches | Profile | Former Speaker | Events | Press Release | Contact | Related Links